# Woods Edge Section One Annual Meeting February 7, 2019 Minutes of Meeting

The annual meeting of Woods Edge Section One was held on February 7, 2019, 6:00 pm, at the Braman Winery. Quorum was reached, with 41 households attending (out of 75), representing 60% of the total acreage (10% is needed for quorum).

### 2018 Board members and officers:

President: Kevin Naivar, absent due to a business trip

Vice President: Douglas McDonnell

Director: JC Ginestra

Treasurer: Maureen Myers

Secretary: Josiane Ginestra

Doug McDonnell opened and lead the meeting since Kevin Naivar, the President, could not attend. A minute of silence was observed for members of our Armed Forces who died in the past year.

Many new residents were welcomed to our neighborhood:

- Erwin and Emily Rucka, 5003 Mimosa Lane
- Nikolos and Amanda Manesh, 5007 Mimosa Lane
- Cynthia Dominguez, 5306 Mimosa Lane
- Scott and Melinda Robinett, 5206 Cypress Green
- Natasha and Tim Bishop, 4700 Silverbelle

# Secretary's report

The minutes from the 2018 meeting were approved. Josiane reminded all that the Woods Edge Section One website is a great source of information, and that Board meeting announcements and minutes will be posted on the website.

# Treasurer's report

Maureen Myers discussed the yearly financial statement which was approved.

## **New Board of Directors:**

Directors are elected for a three-year term, and each year the President rotates out. Kevin Naivar was candidate to be re-elected. Since no one else declared their candidacy, either in advance or during the meeting, Kevin Naivar was unanimously reconducted as Director without a vote.

### 2019 Board of Directors:

President: Douglas McDonnell

Vice President: JC Ginestra

Director: Kevin Naivar

### **New Officers:**

Josiane Ginestra was willing to continue at Secretary, no one else declared an interest. Maureen Myers did not want to continue as Secretary, but Pat Hearn agreed to serve. The board confirmed both.

# 2019 Officers:

· Treasurer: Pat Hearn

Secretary: Josiane Ginestra

### **Architectural Control Committee:**

The Board of Directors chose to be active members of the Architectural Control Committee. Four advising members were also appointed:

- Natasha Appel
- Claudia Londono
- Elaine Loubser
- Jennifer Richard

# President's report

Doug McDonnell discussed to items dictated by recent Texas Laws:

The Board of Directors must conduct "open meetings" if matters affecting
one or several home owners, or dues, are to be discussed. A meeting
announcement will be posted on the website at least 72 hours in advance
and an email will be sent.

 A payment plan must be offered: in addition to the rebates given for early payment of the yearly dues, a monthly payment option will now be available. Doug reminded everyone that the board will also consider special circumstances and negotiate special terms with any homeowner that requests such, as long as the account is otherwise not yet delinquent.

Doug also discussed the fact that several homeowners just ignore their dues statements and have not paid for several years. He proposed a yearly penalty of \$500 for such accounts. After a heated debate, a vote was held and the proposal was defeated: 38.2% of the acreage voted yes but more than 50% was needed to pass the proposed amendment to the Deed Restrictions. 18.6% of the acreage voted no.

The regular annual meeting was then closed.

A discussion of the planned "Big Ditch" ground survey followed. The overall objective is to regrade the bottom of the ditch to eliminate large pools of standing water trapped after each rain. The ground survey is necessary to obtain a detailed quote. When such quote is available a special meeting will be called.

Josiane Ginestra
Woods Edge Section One Secretary